Eli’s adventure caddy

Show off your caddy
Elijahdilbert
Caddy2k Groupie
Engine size/power: 1.6 CR TDI (102bhp)

Eli’s adventure caddy

Post by Elijahdilbert »

Alrighty, here goes.

Last week I picked up a 2013 1.6 caddy maxi.
203k miles on the clock, bit rough around the edges and a few little issues but seems like a solid runner and for £2350 it was an absolute bargain.

The plan is to convert it to a camper for weekend adventures with me the missus and the dog.

I’m not a very mechanical person at all. I’ve never messed around with a car or done any real DIY work, so this build is probably gonna be a bit painful and a little bit amusing to read for those experienced builders lol!

I’m excited to get stuck in and after a week of lurking around on the build threads here I’ve got all sorts I want to do with no idea how Image

Here she is

Job list so far:

- Windscreen was completely shattered when I picked it up. Had it replaced already

- passenger sliding door doesn’t lock, so bounces back open and slides around while driving, got it cable tied together until I can figure out what’s wrong with it? Might just get a full door from a breakers and replace the door, I’m just not keen on having to have a second key for the new lock

- massive dent in the sill, it’s obviously caused the paint to crack and started to rust. It’s not at all bad, I think a little sand over and a lick of paint and it would be fine.. but I’d rather just replace the sill i think

- when I picked it up, I drove for a few miles and then took the dog for a walk before our two hour drive home and the second time I come to start it, it wouldn’t start. Ended up giving it a jump and it was fine and has been since BUT now and then I get a flashing light on the dash for my glow plugs, so I’m gonna have to get it on a obd and see what faults it’s giving. But it’s done 200k and glow plugs last 100 according to google so I’m gonna replace those in the meantime.